The Latino Survey And A Survey Of Self

The results of a survey conducted by the Pew Hispanic Center, a non-partisan research group, show that 36% of Latino people who took the survey feel they are being discriminated against in the U.S. because of the heated immigration debate going on. A survey conducted in 2007, stated the biggest reason for their concern over discrimination was language.  I am sure the big change has to do with all of the debate over immigration. This article hit me kind of hard because I don’t know many Latino people so to see their perspective on how they feel was enlightening but also heartbreaking. I am a granddaughter of immigrants who had to suffer and claw to find their place in American society. However, I am concerned about why I am myself, torn over this issue of immigration. It isn’t just an issue about Latino people, it is an issue about what I have learned in class about resources. My concern is more that I feel our country is in such a bad way with unemployment, and jobs leaving our country, that part of me wishes for a while we would stop allowing so many people in. There doesn’t seem to be enough opportunity for us to get ahead as citizens. I know this is not an issue I have with people who want to enter our country so much as an issue that I have with those who I feel misuse resources and power.

Is it possible than to love human beings and yet, still feel the pangs of fear when it comes to opening the door to more people who need the same opportunities I do? In this survey of the many questions I ask myself on this issue, I find I am too torn to decide either way. One side of the coin goes against everything I feel is right. The other serves a fear of my family going without because at some point I feel there won’t be enough. I have to keep looking away from those suffering to those truly responsible for that suffering. It would be so much easier for me to just argue one way or the other as I am sure I would find people who agree on either side. However, this isn’t an easy call, it would be irresponsible for me as a citizen or a human being to just throw my hands up. In fact, I think that is part of the problem we face when we are stuck in the gray areas of human relations.

http://topics.nytimes.com/top/reference/timestopics/subjects/d/discrimination/index.html

About acute73

I can't tell you who I am. I'm still discovering me!
This entry was posted in tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

