Should I?

Should I apologize that I am white? Should I apologize that I am a male on top of my whiteness? I realize that my skin color has opened invisible doors for me, yet I’ve never asked for those doors to be opened up for me. I realize that my skin color has given me a built in benefit of doubt when it comes to law and order, yet I’ve never asked for that benefit of doubt. Should I have a sense of white guilt because my ancestors may or may not have owned slaves? To me, it seems like a lot of white people go out of their way to placate anybody from a different racial or ethnic background. That is a backwards way of approaching things. By placating those from differing backgrounds we are doing nothing more than perpetuating a sense of entitlement and the “necessity” to feel a sense of white guilt. At the same time, the flames of inferiority are being fueled in those that have different racial and ethnic backgrounds. Sure, in the moment, they may feel a sense of gratification or equality, but those feelings will quickly fade when taken out of the situation. Don’t get me wrong. I am not saying that there should be no equality, it is quite the opposite. Everybody, any and everywhere are entitled to fair and equal treatment. What I am saying is that by having a sense of white guilt, or feeling that we have to apologize for receiving special treatment that we don’t ask for, we will not progress as a society. We will continue to feed into the cycle of inequality that permeates all around us. The only difference among is our perception of others. And, our perception is shaped by our thinking. If we continue to think in our old worn out way, things will continue to stay the same.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Should I?

  1. stormy413 says:

    First off I do not wish to start an argument with anyone based on my own opinion so please don’t be offended. I don’t think that anyone should be apologizing at all for the way they are. Whatever happened in the past has to remain in the past and we cannot repeat it. The only thing that we can do now is wok towards a better future, if we mess up along the way, then you should apologize. The main fact that the article pointed out is that we shouldn’t feel guilt for what happened in the past. While I do agree with this to a certain extent, there is no forgetting what happened in the past. It’s a sticky situation when discussing slavery. America was basically built on the backs of slaves who built this country for free. In my opinion I think some type of compensation should be in order for the black community, even though it will probably never happen due to the amassed funds needed and the time now, people would look at it as preposterous. For me personally, I think fee labor for life can never stand up to the failed reward of 40 acres and a mule. However some may argue that the black community doesn’t deserve reparations now for their forefather’s work, if it were the other way around though and white people were the slaves, you would never hear the end of it and it would be a completely different story. The only thing people can do is to work hard and be great Americans. Like I said I don’t wish to offend anyone, but considering that racism is still heavily prevalent in our country today everywhere you look and something has to be done to eliminate it. We need to come together, all of us as Americans and truly be united and not be divided as we always have.

Leave a Reply

