Invisible Knapsack

The essay by Peggy McIntosh really gave me a lot to think about. Even though it was written in 1988, some of the conditions listed in her essay entitled White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack still have some merit today. Out of her fifty conditions, I chose to focus on three.

#20 I can do well in a challenging situation without being called a credit to my race. I have however been called a credit to my sex but found it equally insulting and ignorant. I think that part of the reason that I have never been told that I am a credit to my race is because I have had little opportunities to be in conversations with people who are unlike myself. I also feel that by today’s standards such a comment would be socially  unacceptable.

#21 I am never asked to speak for all the people of my racial group. Why should I? All of my social and employment opportunities are among the Anglo-American sect. I couldn’t imagine being singled out like that or that someone would actually thinks that I would know how everyone else in my race feels or thinks.

#46 I can choose blemish cover or bandages in “flesh” color and have them more or less match my skin. I have never seen bandages sold in stores in my neighborhood that would accommodate and African American’s skin tone. I went to my medicine cabinet to see for myself if there is a color listed on the package but there wasn’t. However, the picture printed on the box clearly showed that the bandages were for light-skinned customers. I wonder if stores in predominantly black neighborhoods sell darker bandages?

I plan to share this essay with family and friends. Society as a whole seems to be trying to address the larger more obvious effects of racism and discrimination but there are still many small issues that most folks don’t realize still exist.

This entry was posted in tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

