Color in Pop Culture

When you look at pop culture today in movies, media, music, you see mainly white people. Don’t get me wrong you do still see black people, but it isn’t anywhere near as prevalent. When you are doing an overview of movies (which is all I mainly talk about since that is what my major involves) there is the same formula that I think is used over and over again. I just see the same customary white, charming, young, dashing, strong, younger, male lead role who is the central focus of the story, who always comes out on top and who always saves the day at the end of the film. Now when trying to watch a film that is more diverse with a black lead role that is a box office smash hit and earns millions upon millions of dollars, it’s very few and far in between. When a person can list the number of white male lead classic roles it can stretch a mile long (figuratively speaking) however, when you list the number of classic black male lead roles, the number doesn’t nearly amount to that of whites. Women even do not measure up to the amount white males in Hollywood. And black women are also even fewer. Besides the black/ white and male/female ratios you also have to take into account how many Indian, Asian, Arab, and Hispanic individuals you have to take into account.
With the music industry it is slightly different there, there is much more diversity however certain backgrounds are again pigeonholed into certain diverse categories. Black women in the industry are mostly associated with Pop, R&B, and Rap. You hardly ever hear about that many black female country singers on the mainstream for instance. Very rarely do you hear of many white males involved in rap except for Eminem but it was also sensationalized because he was a white boy who could rap. But most music genres are typically associated now with appealing to a certain group instead of appealing to the masses.
Even in television you do not see that much of a culturally diverse selection shows. If you do see them then they are usually on their own separate network (like Logo for the gay audience and BET for the black audience). This also ties in with assimilation and with making minority and ethnic groups more integrated within our society. In my opinion, to adhere to the idea of integration, there shouldn’t me a “BET” or “Logo” network but more of an integrated and diverse array of actors with other shows and have a multitude of different leads that are all shown equally within pop culture.
http://inclusionparadox.com/comedy-tragedy-pop-culture%E2%80%99s-two-faced-approach-to-diversity-and-inclusion/
http://www.peterjalexander.com/images/Entropy_Measure_of_Product_Diversity.pdf

About stormy413

Hey people out there! My name, if you haven't already guessed, is Nicholas Storm! Since this is the "about me" part, do I'll do what i do best, talk about myself.... I like working out, painting, fashion, movies and music. My favorite food is sushi, my favorite color is black. I am a dog person, I can't stand cats. I like to think I'm an open minded person with good taste. But then again you never know. I listen to Lady Gaga, Kanye West, Nicki Minaj, Marilyn Manson, Janelle Monae and many others. I LOVE horror movies and I am currently going to school for Media producion/Filmmaking. I like movies by Quentin Tarantino, Alfred Hitchcock, and Gaspar Noe. My favorite movie of all time is called "Enter the Void." My favorite artist is Andy Warhol. This is my first time with this site so this should be tons-o-fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

