Why I hate the word “Nigga”

Many African-Americans and Non-African-Americans use the word “Nigga”. The word has been popularized too such a degree that people no longer react in an incredulous manner when it is uttered during conversation. I do not, nor will I ever use this word because of its history. “Nigga” derived from the word “Nigger”. The word “nigger” has and is still used to oppress and devalue African-Americans. Many African-Americans have lost their lives due to this racial epithet. Yet, each time an African-American uses this word he or she is committing blasphemy.

Why would members of a minority group embrace a word which was once used to devalue and dehumanize them? The word is still as ugly now as it was in earlier times. There is absolutely nothing positive about the word. Maybe these individuals are simply ignorant of this nation’s racist past, or oblivious of modern day racism. Many of these same people would argue that their usage of the word allows them to claim power over it. Yet, why would you want to claim such a disgusting, hateful word. African-Americans who use this word are perpetuating the racist ideology that continues to constrain and deny them opportunities. I’ve heard a number of white people use the word “nigga” to refer to a black person, and each time i hear it I become enraged.

Let the word “Nigga” die! Let all of the hate associated with the word die. It has no place in the 21st century. I, an African-American male, will never embrace this word. I will not give it power over me. I will help to kill it. I will help to eviscerate it. I choose to claim my future, and it will not be entrenched in the past. I only wish that other African-Americans would do the same by letting the word die! The Thomas Theorem states that “If we define the situation as real than it is real in its consequences”, so if people continue to realize this terrible word, than the consequences of the word–racism–will surely accompany it.

This entry was posted in tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I hate the word “Nigga”

  1. dcoleman03 says:

    I agree that the word shouldn’t be used by ANYONE, but especially African Americans. The nations African American ancestors were devalued by this word and in the current day people have the audacity to use the term in general conversation. In today’s society what does that term represent? The African American community use the term yet become upset when the white community used the word. Can we double standard? Yes, times have changed but the term carries a connotation that should discourage its use. Another thing I’ve heard people comment about is the term “Nigga” has a different meaning than “Nigger”, hearing that makes me so angry because in my opinion one is just the slang term of the other both indicating negativity. Another thing that I question is the word Negro- Black in spanish. Why is that African Americans are described by some Hispanics as Negro when African Americans are brown in color?

  2. calibre216 says:

    I to agree that those words shouldn’t be used. I am Hispanic and don’t use that word but I have heard other Hispanics use is at a slang term the word “Nigga” and it bothers me a lot and I have always said something to who ever is saying that word. I asked a person who said the word “Nigga” what do you mean by that word and why do you say it, He just replied “its just a term no harm”. I quickly said to him if we where still in the slavery times I bet my family would be considered “niggers” because of the skin color of my mothers side of the family. The word “Negro/Negros” to me is harmful way to say black/blacks. Another way of saying black/blacks is “morenos”. In the Spanish language there is no correct term for African Americans, but it all depends on how the word is said in Spanish which then interprets how the word is being used.

Leave a Reply

