Asians

I have been friends with many Asians, my doctor is Asian, you come in counter with them everyday, yet I never really thought about distinguishing them. I never enquired whether they were Phillipino, Korean, Chinese, etc. simply because I just lump them all into one category. I would be offended if someone did that to me because it undermines your race and your ethnicity which people take pride in. So I’m going to make a conscious effort to find out where they are from instead of just type-casting them into one big category!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asians

  1. dcoleman03 says:

    When you attempt to find out, what steps will you take? I don’t mean this in a negative way at all, but in what ways will you benefit from knowing? It may appear uncomfortable for you to just come out and ask where they are from. Do you believe that will make them uncomfortable or wonder why you are asking them this now since you already have had contact with them on different occassions?

  2. colovas91 says:

    It’s not like I’m going up to random people on the street and asking! These are people I’ve known for a while, I don’t think asking them what their ethnicity is will make them uncomfortable. I think people take pride in their ethnicity and enjoy talking about it because it’s a part of them. And if it happens to offend them then oh well, but I think it’s more offense for me to assume what they are rather than to just ask.

Leave a Reply

