Voting

I haven’t been able to get this out of my head from Election Day.

I went to vote at my local precinct and it has gotten to be a cluster. They combined several locations into one small crampt room at a local rec center. There is always confusion and no one seems to remember what group they vote with.

There was an older white lady who seemed very aggitated and in some what of her defense I walked in on the back end of this but… she says very loudly to the not so much younger black lady at the check in table, “You don’t have to tell me to do anything, you are not going to stop me from voting”. Now I was not toally sure if she was aggitated at changes, confusion or the way things were being handled but it struck me as odd. I almost tapped the white lady on the shoulder to remind her some of these people are volunteers that are here out of a passion for the process of voting (it sounded good anyway). The more I thought about it the more I wondered how often that scene was repeated, only maybe 30 plus years ago and the shoe was on the other foot. That is if the black lady could get past any of the obstacles put in her way…

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

