Classifications

“He’s not Asian he’s Chinese, not wait, he’s Korean, no wait….”

When we try and analyze one particular person’s background we are trying to become closer to their heritage and what foundations they grew up on.  Stereotyping all type of people who are Asian just as Chinese is obviously racist because there are so many different types of backgrounds for different Asians; Fillipino, Japanese, Vietnamese, Korean, and Chinese just to name a few.

The same works for Whites, to immediately classify any non- Black, non- Asian, non-Indian as just whites is purely ignorant in my opinion.  You have Italian (even though this background is a bit ethnic), Irish, Dutch, German, Swiss, English, Scottish and the list could go on and on if possible.  Whites are so particular and so proud of OUR heritages that we fail to look upon other heritages as having individual types of backgrounds as well.

When we see a particular type of background we don’t label them as being from a different type of country or culture (For example, I was corrected the other day when I made a comment about a black female on television having nice Christian Louboutin shoes and he corrected me in saying that she wasn’t black but Eastern Indian; so I am guilty sometimes as well) we just label them as either being black, white, Chinese, Indian, Muslim  or Hispanic (to be politically incorrect.

No one sees that that black person could be Somolian, Kenyan, or Jamacan, they label them as African American (Which I HATE this term mainly because, if you were born in America, then you are American, you can still be white and be considered an African American and it’s just a label for blacks of African descent). 

Now labels may help us out or they could prove to the detriment for certain social and ethnic backgrounds.  If we had to analyze each and focus down to the “T” what each racial and ethnic background there was in the world when we identify an individual two things may occur; further division or less racial classification.

Let me explain.  This could divide people to an even further degree and divide people down even more to what people are already divided down to right now instead of bringing people together, to say that someone is different may be difficult for some people to understand.  Another thing that could happen would be people would be too overwhelmed with classifying the multitude of races and ethnicities out in the world today and just label it down to Black, White, Asian, Arab, and Indian like they have been doing.  Let’s not hope for either of those things to happen, the best that we can hope for is a deeper and more open-minded understanding of other ethnicities and cultures to where it comes down to certain instances, race and ethnicity is no longer a factor.

About stormy413

Hey people out there! My name, if you haven't already guessed, is Nicholas Storm! Since this is the "about me" part, do I'll do what i do best, talk about myself.... I like working out, painting, fashion, movies and music. My favorite food is sushi, my favorite color is black. I am a dog person, I can't stand cats. I like to think I'm an open minded person with good taste. But then again you never know. I listen to Lady Gaga, Kanye West, Nicki Minaj, Marilyn Manson, Janelle Monae and many others. I LOVE horror movies and I am currently going to school for Media producion/Filmmaking. I like movies by Quentin Tarantino, Alfred Hitchcock, and Gaspar Noe. My favorite movie of all time is called "Enter the Void." My favorite artist is Andy Warhol. This is my first time with this site so this should be tons-o-fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

