My View of Race and Relations Class

     I have a new outlook on different races, ethnic groups, and nationalities, and religions and beliefs because of this class.  I have been shown that without realizing it, I have been expressing prejudices towards various walks of people, even my own.  I have never thought of myself as a ignorant, disrespectful person, but there are some definite things I can work on going forward in my life.  I’ve learned how minorities were set up to fail in this society.  We were never meant to prosper within this class system.  The only way we can be successful is to educate ourselves and others about the history of minorities and their oppression.  We must be educated about the different ways we can help each other to stop the vicious cycle that consumes us and keeps us trapped in our own thoughts of mediocrity and settling for less.  Instead we should be setting higher goals for ourselves and  our children, which in turn will teach them to do the same for theirs.  This is something that everyone should do, minorities and the majority alike, to better our towns, cities, states, countries, and the world.     

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment